Patnaik’s ‘rule’ ends after 24 years in Odisha, BJP’s spectacular victory

Naveen Patnaik, who was in power for 24 years in Odisha, has lost power. In the assembly elections held in the state, BJP is leading in 78 out of 147 seats. While BJD is leading in 51 seats. Naveen Patnaik has been the Chief Minister of Odisha for 24 years (March 2000). In Odisha, BJP contested the elections on the face of Prime Minister Narendra Modi without making anyone a candidate for the post of Chief Minister.

On June 4, while the counting of votes is going on for 542 Lok Sabha seats, on the other hand, counting of votes is also going on for 147 assembly seats in Odisha. There are indications that if the results remain the same till the end of the counting, then BJD leader Naveen Patnaik may have to join the opposition for the first time and BJP can form the government for the first time in the state.

Initially, it seemed that there was a close contest between BJP and Naveen Patnaik’s party Biju Janata Dal. Exit polls released on Saturday also made a similar prediction. But later BJP took a decisive lead. In the exit polls, Naveen Patnaik’s BJD was predicted to get 62 seats and BJP 80 seats.

In the 2019 Odisha Assembly elections, the BJD formed the government by winning 117 out of 147 seats in the state. At that time, the BJP got 23 seats and the Congress got 9 seats. It was estimated that the BJP could get 42 percent votes in the 2024 assembly elections. Which has increased by about 10 percent compared to last time. In 2019, the party got 32.49 percent votes.


Content on this site may include articles generated by automated means or syndication feeds. While we aim for accuracy, automated content may not always reflect the latest developments. Readers are encouraged to verify information from multiple reliable sources.


Leave a comment