ICC T20 World Cup 2024: First team fixed for Super 8s

The first team to reach the Super 8 round for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 has been decided. In this tournament, 20 teams have been divided into 4 groups of 5 each. Accordingly, the top 2 teams from each group will qualify for the Super 8. South Africa booked their ticket to the Super 8 round with a win on Monday, June 10. With this, South Africa became the first team to reach the Super 8.

The match between South Africa and Bangladesh was played at Nassau County International Cricket Stadium. In this match, South Africa challenged Bangladesh to score 114 runs to win. But Keshav Maharaj brilliantly defended 11 runs in the last over and gave South Africa a victory by 4 runs. This was South Africa’s third consecutive victory. South Africa booked a ticket to Super 8 with a hat-trick of victories. South Africa is in Group D.

Oman has become the first team to be eliminated from the league round. Oman is in Group B. Oman has lost all three matches. Oman lost its first match against Namibia in the Super Over. Then Australia won by 39 runs. Scotland defeated Oman in the third match. Now Oman’s last match will be against England on 14 June.

Meanwhile, a match will be played between Pakistan and Canada on 11 June. Pakistan has lost its last 2 matches. In such a situation, this match is going to be a do or die situation for Pakistan to keep its challenge alive in the Super 8. If Pakistan loses, it will become the second team to be eliminated from the tournament after Oman.

Bangladesh Playing XI: Nazmul Hossain Shanto (captain), Tanjid Hasan, Liton Das (wicketkeeper), Tauheed Hrodoy, Shakib Al Hasan, Zakir Ali, Mahmudullah, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Tanzim Hasan Sakib and Mustafizur Rahman.

South Africa Playing XI: Aiden Markram (captain), Reeza Hendricks, Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Tristan Stubbs, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrique Norkhia and Ottniel Bartman.

Leave a comment