What is PM Awas Yojana? The plan under which the government will build new houses worth Rs 3 crore

Prime Minister Narendra Modi

Narendra Modi has become the country’s prime minister for the third time. He took a big decision under the Prime Minister Awas Yojana in his first cabinet meeting the day after taking oath. In the cabinet meeting headed by Modi, it was agreed to build 3 crore new houses. Citing the government, it has been said that those who are eligible under this scheme will be provided houses under the Prime Minister Awas Yojana. Let us understand what is Prime Minister Awas Yojana? And given this, who can receive financial help from the government to build a house?

What is PM Awas Yojana?

Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana is a government scheme that helps people build their own houses. The government contributes around Rs 2.5 lakh. Actually, the benefit of Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY) is available only to the poor, but now the urban poor and middle class have also come under its purview. There are many categories based on income and loans are also given based on those categories. Initially, the home loan amount under PMAY was Rs 3-6 lakh and subsidy was available for the same, but it was increased to Rs 18 lakh.

This is the way to apply.

  1. Firstly, identify the category (MIG, LIG, etc.) under which you can apply for PMAY.
  2. After this, go to the official website http://pmaymis.gov.in.
  3. Click Citizen Review in the main menu and select the applicant category.
  4. You will be redirected to a separate page where you will need to enter your Aadhaar details.
  5. Complete the PMAY application online with your personal details, income details, bank account details and current residential address.
  6. Enter the captcha code, verify the information correctly and submit.

How to apply offline

Go to the common services center closest to your home and complete the form from there. These centers are managed through government agencies. To fill the form offline, you will have to pay Rs 25 plus GST. It must be taken into account that no less has been given to any private agency to collect or deposit this money. If you wish, you can also fill out the form by visiting any bank, non-banking financial institution or housing finance company. Submit photocopies of all the documents mentioned in the form along with the form.

These documents will be necessary to apply.

To avail the benefits of PM Awas Yojana, the applicant needs to submit some important documents. Most important in this are identity certificates like Aadhar card, PAN card and voter ID card. A certificate of residence must also be presented. Along with this, you must attach a copy of the income certificate in which you can provide a copy of form 16, bank account statement or latest computerized declaration.

Only those people belonging to the economically weaker section whose income does not exceed Rs 3 lakh will benefit from this scheme. Those in the low income group or LIG will get benefits whose income is between Rs 3 lakh and Rs 6 lakh. People in the middle income group or MIG earning between Rs 6 lakh and Rs 18 lakh will receive the benefit of the Prime Minister Awas Yojana. People living in slums are also provided financial assistance under this scheme.


Content on this site may include articles generated by automated means or syndication feeds. While we aim for accuracy, automated content may not always reflect the latest developments. Readers are encouraged to verify information from multiple reliable sources.


Leave a comment