TMC’s Sudeep Bandopadhyay wins Kolkata North seat by 92 thousand 560 votes, know about him

Who won the Kolkata North seat?

Trinamool Congress veteran Sudip Bandopadhyay was once again given ticket by party supremo Mamata Banerjee from his traditional seat Kolkata North. He became the MP for the sixth time by registering victory. He defeated BJP’s Tapas Roy by 92 thousand 560 votes. Sudeep Bandopadhyay got 4 lakh 54 thousand 696 votes and Tapas Roy got 3 lakh 62 thousand 136 votes. Sudeep Bandopadhyay won with a majority in the first election to the Lok Sabha seat that existed during the 2008 delimitation. He has scored a hat-trick of re-elections from this seat in 2014 and 2019 and is now contesting for a fourth victory. Before this, he was elected in the 12th and 13th Lok Sabha and also reached the Parliament.

Sudeep Bandopadhyay is one of the most experienced and powerful leaders of TMC. While filing his nomination for the 2019 elections, he disclosed his wealth of Rs 6 crore. Sudeep Bandopadhyay is also an accused in the Rose Valley Ponzi Firm scam and was arrested by the CBI on January 3, 2017 after his name surfaced in the case. In fact, Sudeep Bandopadhyay entered politics in the 70s. However, he entered electoral politics for the first time in 1987 and was elected as an MLA during the legislative term from 1987 to 1991.

Won the election for the first time in 1998

After this he won assembly elections in 1991, 1996 and 1998. Mamata Banerjee’s very special Sudeep Bandopadhyay got a Lok Sabha ticket for the first time in 1998 and became a member of the 12th Lok Sabha. Then in 1999, he also won the 13th Lok Sabha election and reached the Parliament. TMC contested the West Bengal assembly elections in 2006. In this he won and reached the assembly. However, in 2009, the TMC fielded him in the Lok Sabha elections and sent him to Parliament. Sudeep Bandopadhyay has also been the leader of the party in Parliament in the year 2014. In the year 2019 also, he had a clash with the BJP candidate. At that time BJP leader Rahul Vishwajit Sinha lost the election by a very narrow margin.

If we talk about Sudeep Bandopadhyay’s education, he is a graduate from Calcutta University. He has done B.Sc. His wife Nayana Bandopadhyay is also in TMC. Naina is an MLA from Chorangi assembly constituency since 2014. Naina is also an actress and has worked in Bengali cinema.


Content on this site may include articles generated by automated means or syndication feeds. While we aim for accuracy, automated content may not always reflect the latest developments. Readers are encouraged to verify information from multiple reliable sources.


Leave a comment