TMC’s Jagdish Chandra Verma Basunia wins Cooch Behar Lok Sabha seat by 39250 votes, know about MP.

Jagdishchandra Burma Basunia.

Trinamool Congress’s Jagdish Chandra Burma Basunia has won a big victory in the Cooch Behar Lok Sabha seat by defeating the BJP candidate and former Union Minister of State for Home Affairs Nishith Pramanik. Jagdish Chandra Burma Basunia defeated Nishith Pramanik by 39250 votes. Basunia got 788375 votes, while BJP’s Nishith Pramanik got 749125 votes. At the same time, Nitish Chandra Roy of Forward Bloc stood third with 30267 votes. The Cooch Behar region is dominated by the dynastic community and the support of the dynastic community is essential for victory in this region. It is clear from the election results that despite belonging to the dynastic community, Nishith Pramanik did not get the support of the dynastics.

Cooch Behar Lok Sabha seat is considered to be politically very sensitive and as it is located on the border with West Bengal, infiltration and smuggling is a major problem here. During the election campaign, Basunia attacked the BJP on this issue.

A blow to BJP in the Lok Sabha elections

In the last Lok Sabha elections, BJP won 18 out of 42 seats in Bengal. The seats on which BJP won. Cooch Behar was also included in it. Nishith Pramanik won from Cooch Behar. After the victory, he was inducted into the cabinet and became the Union Minister of State.

In the 2024 elections, the BJP suffered a major setback and had to be content with just 12 seats, while the number of TMC MPs increased to 29. TMC has won the Lok Sabha seats. Cooch Behar is also one of them.

Basunia became MP from MLA

Jagdish Chandra Burma Basunia has been associated with the Trinamool Congress for a long time. He is a Trinamool Congress MLA from Seetai constituency. In the May 2021 assembly elections, the Trinamool Congress fielded him as a candidate from Seetai and he won. In the 2021 assembly elections, Jagdish Chandra Burma Basunia got 49.42 percent votes with 117,908 votes. He defeated BJP’s Deepak Kumar Roy. He got 107796 votes with 45.18 percent, while Keshav Chandra Roy of Congress got only 3964 votes.

An incident of violence took place in Sitalkuchi of Cooch Behar during this assembly election. In which 4 youths were martyred in CISF firing incident. This became a major issue in Bengal politics.


Content on this site may include articles generated by automated means or syndication feeds. While we aim for accuracy, automated content may not always reflect the latest developments. Readers are encouraged to verify information from multiple reliable sources.


Leave a comment