Thackeray’s candidate Jinkla from the ‘Ya’ constituency in Mumbai was elected due to the combined Marathi-Muslim votes.

This Lok Sabha election would have been different from the previous Lok Sabha elections for Maharashtra. Due to which Shiv Sena and Nationalist Congress both parties got separated. One group belonged to the ruling party and the other group belonged to the opposition party. The role of Marathi and Gujarati voters in North East Mumbai i.e. North East Mumbai would have been crucial. Mulund, Vikhroli, Bhandup West, Ghatkopar West, Ghatkopar East and Mankhurd fall under Shivajinagar Saha Assembly Constituency or Lok Sabha Constituency. In 2014 and 2019, Mahayutila would have received Marathi-Gujarati votes in the region. But this time Marathi votes are shifting towards Thackeray who is in Mahavikas Aghadi. Because of this, the BJP candidate from North-East Mumbai, Mihir Kotecha, has suffered a shock of defeat. Sanjay Dina Patil, Thackeray’s candidate from North-East Mumbai. He became the second MP. In mid-2009, he won the North-East Mumbai Lok Sabha election for the Nationalist Congress Party.

MVP candidate Sanjay Dina Patil defeated BJP’s Mihir Kotecha by 29,861 votes. Sanjay Patil got 4,50,937 votes. Mihir Kotecha got 4,21,076 votes. There is no difference for Vijay. But Sanjay Dina Patil would have won Aghadi right from the start. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Sanjay Dina Patil would have been defeated by BJP’s Manoj Kotak. This time the ticket was given to Kotecha instead of Kotak. BJP has three MLAs from North-East Mumbai. Shiv Sena’s Uddhav Thackeray is an MLA from both Gatta and Samajwadi Party. Thackeray Gatache Sunil Raut is MLA from Vikhroli assembly constituency. Thackeray Gatache Ramesh Korgaonkar is an MLA from Bhandup West assembly constituency. Ram Kadam of BJP is from Ghatkopar West Assembly Constituency, Parag Shah of BJP is from Ghatkopar East Assembly Constituency and Abu Azmi Mankhurd of Samajwadi Party is from Shivajinagar Assembly Constituency.

Marathi-Muslim Matanchi Bari Pathyawar

Vikhroli, Bhandup West, Ghatkopar West or the three assembly constituencies are dominated by Marathi voters. Ghatkopar East and Mulund have more Gujarati voters. Mankhurd has a large number of North Indian and minority voters. Sanjay Patil’s victory was facilitated by the division of Marathi and Gujarati votes. Minority opinion turned to him. Sanjay Dina Patil got more votes from the Marathi dominated area. Kotecha got votes in Gujarat-dominated Mulund and Ghatkopar East. But due to the margin of Marathi-Muslim votes, Sanjay Dina Patil emerged victorious.



Content on this site may include articles generated by automated means or syndication feeds. While we aim for accuracy, automated content may not always reflect the latest developments. Readers are encouraged to verify information from multiple reliable sources.


Leave a comment