PAK vs CAN: Mohammad Rizwan’s half-century, Pakistan’s hopes of victory remain intact

Pakistan cricket team has won the 22nd match of ICC T20 World Cup 2024 against Canada by 7 wickets. Canada challenged Pakistan to score 107 runs to win. Pakistan easily completed this challenge in 17.3 overs for 3 wickets. Mohammad Rizwan became the hero of Pakistan’s victory. Rizwan scored an unbeaten half-century. Captain Bahre Azam also contributed to the victory. This was Pakistan’s first win in the tournament. Pakistan has maintained its challenge in the tournament with this win. Mohammad Rizwan played the highest unbeaten innings of 53 runs for Pakistan. Sam Ayub added 6 runs. Captain Babar Azam scored 33 runs. Fakhar Zaman scored 4 and Usman Khan scored 2 not out. Dylan Heyliger took 2 wickets for Canada. Jeremy Gordon took 1 wicket.

Earlier, Pakistan won the toss and invited Canada to bat. Canadian batsmen were ineffective in front of Pakistan’s bowling. Only three Canadian players could reach double figures. For Canada, Aaron Johnson scored 52 runs in 44 balls. Captain Saad Bin Zafar scored 10 and Kaleem Sana scored 13 not out. Dylan Heyliger remained unbeaten on 9 runs. Ravinder Paul could not score a single run. Other batsmen failed. In this way, Canada reached 106 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in 20 overs. Mohammad Aamir and Haris Rauf took 2-2 wickets for Pakistan. While Shaheen Afridi and Naseem Shah both sent 1-1 batsman to the pavilion.

Pakistan missed a big chance

Pakistan won the match, but they missed a big opportunity. How much this mistake will cost Pakistan will be clear in the coming days. Pakistan had a chance to improve its net run rate by winning this match in 14 overs. Team India and USA have won both the matches played in Group A. Pakistan has won its first match after 2 consecutive matches. In such a situation, Pakistan had a chance to improve its net run rate by completing the challenge of 107 runs against Canada in 14 overs. But Pakistan missed that opportunity.

Pakistan’s first win

Canada Playing XI: Saad Bin Zafar (captain), Shreyas Mowwa (wicketkeeper), Aaron Johnson, Navneet Dhaliwal, Pargat Singh, Nicholas Kirton, Ravinderpal Singh, Dylan Heyliger, Kaleem Sana, Junaid Siddiqui and Jeremy Gordon.

Pakistan Playing XI: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Saim Ayub, Fakhar Zaman, Usman Khan, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf and Mohammad Amir.

Leave a comment