Lok Sabha Election Results: BJP continues to lose in Ayodhya on the name of Ram

Awadhesh Prasad defeated Lallu Singh in Ayodhya

Using the weapon called Ram, the BJP reached 2 to 303 in the Lok Sabha, but Ramji’s Ayodhya always gave the BJP trouble. When the BJP resolved to liberate Ramjanmabhoomi by placing a picture of the archer Ram in front of the Palampur assembly in 1985, Nirmal Khatri of the Congress was the MP from the Faizabad Lok Sabha seat at that time. In the 1989 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP dominated the entire Hindi belt, but even then Mitrasen Yadav of the Communist Party of India (CPI) was elected from the Faizabad seat (which includes Ayodhya) and Jaishankar Pandey of the Janata Dal won from there. Ayodhya assembly seat

In 1991, BJP’s Vinay Katiyar won the Lok Sabha elections from Faizabad and in the same year BJP won all the five assembly seats of Faizabad (Ayodhya, Rudauli, Milkipur, Bikapur and Daryabad).

Even after the Babri Masjid demolition, Ayodhya remained peaceful

BJP can never win here after this. Sometimes she loses. In 1996, Vinay Katiyar won re-election in the Lok Sabha elections held four years after the Babri Masjid demolition. But in 1998, when the BJP again contested the Lok Sabha elections in the name of Ram Mandir, the same Vinay Katiyar missed the hat-trick. He lost the Lok Sabha seat against SP’s Mitrasen Yadav. On December 6, 1992, when the Babri Masjid was demolished, Prime Minister PV Narasimha Rao not only dismissed the Kalyan Singh government of Uttar Pradesh, but also toppled all the BJP-ruled state governments (Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Himachal). . The entire country may have agitated for the liberation of Ramjanmabhoomi, but Faizabad remained calm. There was neither communal tension nor division between Hindus and Muslims. In the 1994 assembly elections, the BJP lost all four assembly seats except Ayodhya. The people of Ayodhya never showed any deviation in the name of Ram.

BJP lost even in the noise of Jeevan Prestige

BJP’s Vinay Katiyar was re-elected in the 1999 Lok Sabha elections, but lost the 2004 Lok Sabha elections to BJP-BSP’s Mitrasen Yadav from Ayodhya on Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s Shining India issue. Mitrasen Yadav moved from CPI to SP and later joined BSP. In 2009, Nirmal Khatri of Congress won from here. BJP’s Lallu Singh in 2014 and 2019. In 2024, BJP’s Lallu Singh lost to SP’s Awadhesh Prasad. In 2024, the situation was so bad that the BJP faced defeat not only in Faizabad, but its candidates in all the districts of Faizabad (now Ayodhya) division. Faizabad, Ambedkar Nagar, Barabanki, Sultanpur and Amethi Lok Sabha seats slipped from BJP’s hands. This was the case even though four months ago on January 22, Prime Minister Narendra Modi had anointed the idol at the grand temple of Ram Lala in Ayodhya.

No politics in the name of Ram

From this it appears that the name of Ramji, whose name evokes excitement among the people of the whole country, has no communication in his motherland. Senior Ayodhya journalist Indu Bhushan Pandey says that whenever an attempt is made to encash Ram’s name, the people of Ayodhya get upset. Ayodhya has an affinity for Ramji but whenever he is used politically the voters get upset. No election can be won in the name of Ram. The truth is that Vinay Katiyar and Lallu Singh, who contested elections with the help of Ram’s name, could not register a hat-trick. People have their own sorrows and pains, if efforts are not made to understand them, people will stay away from BJP. Lallu Singh won twice in a row but he lost because he was a faceless representative of the people.

Should work with Ramnam

Earlier, Vinay Katiyar also had to face a similar situation. After 1991 and 1996, the people showed him the way out. However, he was able to win in 1999 when Atal Bihari Vajpayee was in power. Losing from Faizabad in 2024 is a big blow for BJP. Awadhesh Prasad who defeated Lallu Singh is SP MLA from Milkipur. He is known as an MLA in the area due to being MLA for 9 consecutive terms. But now he has become an MP. Ironically, whenever the BJP has succeeded in popularizing Ram’s name, it has faced defeat in Ayodhya. The Ayodhya assembly seat was also slipping from his hands. Lallu Singh has often been an MLA from Ayodhya, but SP’s Tej Narayan Pandey won from Ayodhya assembly seat in 2012 elections.

The Municipal Corporation also lost to the BJP

In 2023, the BJP also lost the Faizabad (now Ayodhya) Municipal Corporation elections. Interestingly, Sultan Ansari, an independent Muslim candidate from the ward in which the Ramjanmabhoomi complex is located, won, while the BJP had won all the five assembly seats in Ayodhya district in the 2017 assembly elections three years earlier. In 2020, Prime Minister Narendra Modi laid the foundation stone for the construction of a grand Ram temple in Ayodhya, but in the 2022 assembly elections, the BJP lost Milkipur and Gusainganj out of five assembly seats in the district. It is clear from this that even if the BJP seeks votes for the Ram temple in the entire country, it does not get votes in Ayodhya. Ayodhya is a purely religious city. It is mentioned in Sapta Puri of Hinduism. But he always rejected the politicization of the harem.

There is neither Mathura nor Kasi in Ayodhya, only Awadhesh Pasi!

2024 Lok Sabha elections in Ayodhya changed the mood as slogans were raised that we only want Awadhesh Pasi, we have no sympathy with BJP’s Lallu Singh. There is no doubt that Ayodhya has seen unprecedented development in the last ten years. The state government also discriminated against the local residents of Ayodhya with trains connecting all parts of the country, grand railway stations and airports and compensation for their land. The government acquired land for development works but in return some people got more money and some got less. Faizabad BJP MP Lallu Singh and BJP MLA Ved Prakash Gupta did not listen to the plea of ​​the public. The result was that people elected SP MLA Awadhesh Prasad, who was the MLA from Milkipur (Reserve) before winning the Lok Sabha. SP did a big experiment here. Awadhesh Prasad of Dalit community (PASI) contested from this general category seat and won. Thus Lallu lost in Ayodhya and Awadhesh won. The word Avadhesh is synonymous with King Rama.


Content on this site may include articles generated by automated means or syndication feeds. While we aim for accuracy, automated content may not always reflect the latest developments. Readers are encouraged to verify information from multiple reliable sources.


Leave a comment