BJP’s Manoj Tigga wins Alipurduar seat by 75 thousand votes, know about him

Manoj Tigga.

BJP candidate Manoj Tigga has won the Alipurduar Lok Sabha seat of North Bengal, West Bengal by defeating Trinamool Congress candidate Prakash Chik Barak. Manoj Tigga defeated the TMC candidate by 75447 votes. Manoj Tigga got 695314 votes, while Prakash Chik Badaik got 619867 votes. RSP candidate Milli Uran is third. He got only 39709 votes.

Manoj Tigga currently represents the Madarihat assembly constituency in the West Bengal Legislative Assembly. Subhendu Adhikari is the Leader of the Opposition in the West Bengal Legislative Assembly, while Manoj Tigga plays the role of chief whip. In the Lok Sabha elections, 2024, the party leadership nominated him from Alipurduar to replace John Barla and he won.

Manoj Tigga is associated with RSS

Alipurduar is an area of ​​tea plantations and tea plantation workers. Manoj Tigga has been representing the Madarihat assembly constituency located in the tea garden area for a long time. Manoj Tigga, a long-time Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh associate, first contested the 2011 assembly elections as a BJP candidate, but lost to RSP candidate Kumari Kujur. Prior to this, he contested the 2009 Indian general election from the Alipurduar constituency and was defeated by Manohar Tirki of the Revolutionary Socialist Party (India).

MLA was elected from Madarihat Assembly

In the 2016 assembly elections, he again contested from the Madarihat (ST) constituency. This time he was victorious. Manoj Tigga got 43.98 percent votes with 66,989 votes, while TMC’s Padam Lama got 29.51 percent votes with 44,951 votes. In the 2021 assembly elections also, Manoj Tigga again contested as a BJP candidate from Madarihat and Manoj Tigga got 54.35 percent votes with 90,718 votes. He defeated TMC’s Rajesh Lakra. After winning the election, the party entrusted him with the responsibility of chief whip in the assembly.

TMC’s Prakash defeated Chik Badachak.

Meanwhile, in the Lok Sabha Elections 2024, BJP did not field a ticket to John Barla, the outgoing MP from Alipurduar due to health reasons. In his place, party MLA Manoj Tigga has been nominated from Alipurduar. Manoj Tigga has won by defeating TMC’s Prakash Chik Badaik.

51-year-old Manoj Tigga belongs to a scheduled community. His father’s name is late Shibcharan Tigga. He is Voter Serial No. 455 in Madarihat Constituency, Part No. 14. His occupation is Primary School Teacher. His wife is an anganwadi helper.

Tea gardens are very popular in this area

According to the affidavit filed with the Election Commission, his total assets are valued at Rs 57,51,023. The total liabilities of the trio in the form of loans taken from banks are Rs. was a little over 16 lakhs. He had 75 thousand rupees in cash. While his wife had 25 thousand rupees in cash. He has LIC insurance of Rs 17,25,000. Tigga’s affidavit states that six criminal cases are pending against him, but he has not been convicted in any of the cases. Tigga is known in the area as a soft-spoken and energetic leader.


Content on this site may include articles generated by automated means or syndication feeds. While we aim for accuracy, automated content may not always reflect the latest developments. Readers are encouraged to verify information from multiple reliable sources.


Leave a comment