Breaking India State Business Entertainment Biography Lifestyle

Who will be Akhilesh’s ‘Bharat’ in Karhal SP could not win whenever it was in opposition.

Nita Yadav

By Nita Yadav

Published on:

Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav

The results of the Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh have given new political hope to the SP. Out of 80 Lok Sabha seats in the state, BJP has managed to win 33 and SP 37 seats. In such a situation, Akhilesh Yadav has chosen Delhi as his political ground instead of Lucknow after being elected as Lok Sabha MP from Kannauj. After his resignation, the current assembly seat has fallen vacant. In such a scenario, the biggest question is who will be Akhilesh Yadav’s political ‘Bharat’ in the SP in the by-elections to Karhal assembly seat?

Akhilesh Yadav contested the assembly elections for the first time in 2022. He was elected MLA from Karhal seat in Mainpuri, but now he has quit the assembly seat after becoming MP from Kannauj. After Akhilesh’s resignation, the streak of SP candidates in the Karhal assembly by-election has also intensified. Because of the caste math, the politics of Karhal has been favorable to the SP every time. Due to this, Akhilesh Yadav chose this seat for himself in 2022 and now there are speculations about SP candidate for Karhal by-election after him.

Yadav is currently dominating the assembly seat

Yadav dominates the Karhal assembly seat in Mainpuri district. It has the highest number of 1.25 lakh Yadav voters. In such a situation SP always played the caste card. SP continued to win here by fielding a Yadav candidate in Karhal’s political arena. In such a situation, one thing is clear that Akhilesh Yadav will try to make a leader of the Yadav community his candidate from Karhal seat. Several names are in the race for the SP nomination for the Karhal bypoll.

Before Akhilesh Yadav became a candidate from the Kannauj Lok Sabha seat this time, the SP fielded Tej Pratap Yadav, a former MP from Mainpuri. Tej Pratap is his cousin and son-in-law of RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav. In the Lok Sabha elections, Akhilesh himself contested from Kannauj seat instead of Tej Pratap. In such a situation, SP may try to field former Manpuri MP Tej Pratap Yadav as its candidate.

Apart from Tej Pratap Yadav, the name of former MLA Sobaran Yadav is also included among the contenders to contest the by-election from Karhal. In the 2022 elections, Sobaran Yadav left the Karhal seat to contest for Akhilesh Yadav. Sobaran Yadav has been MLA from Karhal assembly seat from 2002 to 2022. In 2002, Sobaran became an MLA on a BJP ticket and defeated the SP, but later joined the SP. That is why now that Akhilesh Yadav has left the Karhal seat, there are speculations that he will contest the by-election.

The by-election trends may increase tension in the SP

SP chief Akhilesh Yadav has resigned from the Lok Sabha seat thrice in his political history and vacated the Assembly seat once. In the year 2000, Akhilesh started his political journey by contesting the Kannauj Lok Sabha seat by-election. In 2009, Akhilesh Yadav contested from two Lok Sabha seats, Kannauj and Firozabad and managed to win both seats. After this he gave up the Firozabad seat from which Dimple Yadav contested the by-election. Dimple Yadav lost the by-election to Raj Babbar of Congress.

After Akhilesh Yadav resigned from the Kannauj Lok Sabha seat after becoming the Chief Minister of UP in 2012, Dimple Yadav was elected unopposed in the by-election. Akhilesh Yadav resigned from the Azamgarh Lok Sabha seat for the third time after the 2022 elections. In 2019, Akhilesh was elected as MP from Azamgarh Lok Sabha seat, but resigned from Lok Sabha in 2022 after becoming MLA from Karhal. After this, Dharmendra Yadav contested the by-election from Azamgarh on a SP ticket, but lost to BJP’s Dinesh Lal Nirhua. Now for the fourth time Akhilesh has resigned from Karhal seat.

After SP chief Akhilesh Yadal vacated the seat three times, the SP has managed to win only once and lost twice. The SP won in 2012, when Akhilesh Yadav was the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh. When the SP was not in power and Akhilesh vacated the seat, the candidate who contested the by-election as his political successor was defeated. These trends are certainly raising tensions for the SP, but the current political equation is believed to be in its favour.

Know the current political equation

The Karhal assembly seat has around three lakh voters, the largest number of whom belong to the Yadav community. There are about 1.25 lakh Yadavs followed by 35 thousand voters from the Shakya community. This is followed by 30 thousand votes each of the Pal and Thakur communities. Dalit community is about 40 thousand, Muslims 20 thousand, Brahmins 15 thousand, Lodha and Vaishya 15 thousand each.

Considering the current political equation in the 2022 assembly elections, the BJP fielded Union Minister SP Singh Baghel against Akhilesh Yadav. SP Singh Baghel was defeated by 67 thousand 504 votes. BSP candidate Kuldeep Narayan has got 15 thousand 701 votes in this seat. Akhilesh won by getting 1 lakh 48 thousand 196 votes.

At present Sakya voters are in second position while Baghel and Kshatriya are in third position. Sakya and Kshatriya voters have always been considered the core voters of BJP, while the arrival of a Baghel candidate was likely to increase BJP’s grip on Baghel voters as well. Along with this, BJP also tried to get the support of Brahmin and Lodhi voters, but it did not succeed. The SP has been winning the seat continuously since 1993, but was defeated in 2002 after Sobaran Yadav entered on a BJP ticket. However, he later joined the SP, since then the SP has been in control.

Karhal assembly seat came into existence in 1956

Karhal assembly seat was formed after 1956 delimitation. In 1957, Praja Samajwadi Party wrestler Nathu Singh Yadav became the first MLA. After that Nathu Singh won on Swatantra Party in 1962, 1967 and 1969, Bharatiya Kranti Dal in 1974 and Janata Party in 1977 and Shivmangal Singh of Congress won in 1980. Baburam Yadav won elections from this seat from 1985 to 1996 due to political equation.

Baburam Yadav won three elections on a Janata Dal ticket, but joined the SP in 1993. After that he became an MLA twice, but in 2002 he lost to BJP’s Sobaran Singh. Sobaran Yadav won consecutive assembly elections from 2002 to 2017 and Akhilesh Yadav vacated the seat in 2022. Akhilesh Yadav became an MLA and now the search for a political heir has started in the by-elections to be held after he vacates the seat?

Nita Yadav

Nita Yadav

I am Nita Yadav, specializing in writing about politics and breaking national news. My focus is on delivering insightful and timely perspectives on these crucial topics, aiming to inform and engage my readers effectively.

Related Post

Leave a comment