Breaking India State Business Entertainment Biography Lifestyle

When will assembly elections be held in 4 states including Maharashtra? The commission gave important instructions to the states

Pratik Mehta

By Pratik Mehta

Published on:

After the Lok Sabha elections, assembly elections will be held in four important states of the country. Assembly elections are going to be held in Maharashtra, Jharkhand, Haryana and Jammu and Kashmir. The Central Election Commission has started preparations for these elections. The Supreme Court had directed the Election Commission to conduct elections in Jammu and Kashmir by September this year. The Election Commission is also preparing for this. The Election Commission has directed the states to update the voter list by August 20. After updating the voter list, the Election Commission can announce the dates of elections in four states.

What is the current political situation of 4 states?

The government fell in Jammu and Kashmir after BJP broke the alliance

At present, President’s rule is in force in Jammu and Kashmir. The term of the government here ended in 2018. According to the order of the Supreme Court, elections are expected to be held here by September 2024. Article 370 was removed from Jammu and Kashmir on 5 August 2019. The state has been divided into two union territories Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh. The last election here was held in 2014. The BJP and People’s Democratic Party coalition government fell after the BJP broke the alliance in 2018. In December 2023, the Supreme Court directed the Election Commission to conduct elections in Jammu and Kashmir by September 2024 at all costs.

BJP again in Haryana?

At present, there is a BJP government in the state of Haryana. The term of the assembly is ending on November 3, 2024. Therefore, elections are expected here by October 2024. There was a BJP-JJP coalition government in Haryana. But, their alliance has broken. In the 2019 elections, BJP won 41 seats and JJP won 10 seats. BJP formed the government with 6 independents and one Halopa. BJP made Manohar Lal Khattar the Chief Minister. However, he could not complete his five-year term.

On March 12, the alliance between JJP and BJP broke. In the legislative party meeting, BJP elected Saini as the leader instead of Manohar Lal Khattar. Chief Minister Naib Saini claimed that he has the support of 48 MLAs. 41 BJP and 7 independent MLAs were present in this meeting. The support of 46 MLAs was necessary to prove majority in the assembly. Therefore, Chief Minister Saini saved the government by proving majority in the assembly.

Will Jharkhand again stand with Hemant Soren?

Former Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren is currently in jail in the land scam case. In his place, the party chose Champai Soren as the Chief Minister. Currently, there is a coalition government of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha and Congress in Jharkhand. The term of the Legislative Assembly is till January 4, 2025. Therefore, elections are expected to be held in October 2024.

Elections were held for the 81-member state assembly in 2019. Jharkhand Mukti Morcha formed the government in alliance with Congress. JMM is leading on 29 seats, Congress on 17, RJD on 1 and CPI on 1 seat. In the recently held Lok Sabha elections, BJP has taken the lead by winning 8 out of 14 seats. In such a situation, JMM can win 3 seats, Congress on 2 seats and AJSU Party on 1 seat.

BJP’s Maha Vikas Aghadi in Maharashtra

Maharashtra is ruled by the BJP and Shiv Sena (Shinde faction). The term of the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly ends on 8 November 2024. Therefore, elections are expected to be held in the state in October 2024. Elections were held for 288 assembly seats in 2019. BJP emerged as the largest party in the state with 106 MLAs. But, the alliance between Shiv Sena and BJP broke down over the post of Chief Minister. Therefore, Shiv Sena with 56 MLAs formed the government by forming Maha Vikas Aghadi with 44 MLAs of Congress and 53 MLAs of NCP. Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray became the Chief Minister.

In May 2022, Urban Development Minister and Shiv Sena leader Eknath Shinde rebelled with 39 MLAs. He took oath as the 20th Chief Minister of Maharashtra on 30 June 2022, taking the BJP with him. Hence, Shiv Sena split into two factions named Shinde faction and Uddhav faction. On February 17, 2023, the Election Commission ordered that the party name ‘Shiv Sena’ and the party’s election symbol ‘Dhanushyaban’ will remain with the Eknath Shinde group.

In the recently held 2024 Lok Sabha elections, BJP won 9 out of 48 seats in Maharashtra. Ally NCP won 1 seat and Shinde Group won 7 seats. While in Bharat Aghadi, Congress won 13 seats, Shiv Sena (UBT) won 9 seats and Sharad Chandra Pawar group of NCP won 8 seats. At the same time, an independent candidate won in Sangli.

Pratik Mehta

Pratik Mehta

I am Pratik Mehta, a passionate business news writer dedicated to covering economic trends, market analysis, and corporate developments.

Related Post

Leave a comment