Breaking India State Business Entertainment Biography Lifestyle

The heart of the ‘Nath family’ was broken in Chhindwara! They did not come after the defeat, now they are missing even in the nomination papers of the by-elections

Nita Yadav

By Nita Yadav

Published on:

Former Chief Ministers Kamal Nath and Nakul Nath

Former Chief Minister Kamal Nath does not seem very active in politics after Congress’s very disappointing performance in the Lok Sabha elections in Madhya Pradesh. Kamal Nath’s son Nakul Nath has faced election defeat from Chhindwara Lok Sabha seat in the state and after this defeat both father and son i.e. Kamal Nath and Nakul Nath were not seen in Chhindwara. Both of them have not reached Chindwara since the result.

By-elections are being held in Amarwada assembly seat of Chhindwara district. Congress candidate Dhiren Shah Inawati is going to file his candidature for the by-election on Thursday. Both Kamal Nath and Nakul Nath are not participating in this nomination rally. However, several Congress leaders will be present, including state Congress president Jitu Patwari and Leader of Opposition in the Assembly Umang Singh.

Competing with Kamlesh, near Kamal Nath

Ahead of the Lok Sabha elections, senior Congress leader and MLA Kamlesh Shah, who is said to be close to former Chief Minister Kamal Nath, resigned on March 29 and left the party to join the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Kamlesh Shah has been made the BJP candidate for the Amarwada seat reserved for Scheduled Tribes.

Earlier on Wednesday, the Congress had announced Dhiren Shah Inavati as its candidate for the by-election to the Amarwada seat in its dominant Chhindwara district. Inavati will be contested by BJP candidate and 3-time MLA Kamlesh Shah. Kamlesh Shah left the Congress and joined the BJP some time ago.

The decision will come on 13th July

By-elections are to be held on 10th July on 13 assembly seats of 7 states of the country including Amarwada seat. The last date for filing nomination papers in the by-election is June 21 while the last date for withdrawal of nomination papers is June 26. Counting of votes will be done on 13th July.

This by-election became necessary as Kamlesh Shah resigned from the post of MLA after switching parties. Shah met Chief Minister Mohan Yadav and BJP state unit president VD two days ago on Tuesday. The nomination form was filled in the presence of Sharma. Amarwada constituency is reserved for Scheduled Tribes (ST).

BJP won only twice from Amarwada

In the recently concluded Lok Sabha elections, the BJP performed brilliantly and captured all the 29 Lok Sabha seats in Madhya Pradesh. Chhindwara seat, also known as Nath’s stronghold, is also included in this. Chhindwara is the only parliamentary seat which the BJP could not win in the 2019 elections.

Kamlesh Shah won the Amarwada assembly seat in Chhindwara district as a Congress candidate in November 2023. In such a situation, the challenge for him is to save this seat. The BJP has managed to win the Amarwada seat only twice (1990 and 2008) since 1972, while the Congress has won it nine times. Apart from this, the tribal organization Gondwana Republic Party (GGP) won from here in the 2003 elections.

Nita Yadav

Nita Yadav

I am Nita Yadav, specializing in writing about politics and breaking national news. My focus is on delivering insightful and timely perspectives on these crucial topics, aiming to inform and engage my readers effectively.

Related Post

Leave a comment