Breaking India State Business Entertainment Biography Lifestyle

‘Resort politics’ again in Maharashtra, why parties are trying to protect their MLAs?

Nita Yadav

By Nita Yadav

Published on:

Sharad Pawar, Eknath Shinde and Ajit Pawar.

Once again ‘resort politics’ has entered the politics of Maharashtra. All political parties in the state are trying to unite their MLAs and avoid ‘cross voting’ in the Legislative Council elections. In this series, Shiv Sena (UBT) chief Uddhav Thackeray shifted all his 16 MLAs to the ITC Grand Central Hotel in Mumbai, while Deputy CM Ajit Pawar along with his NCP MLAs went to the Siddhi Vinayak temple and offered prayers and then shifted them to a hotel. . Held at the resort. BJP has given training to its MLAs to vote in MLC. Thus all parties are busy protecting their MLAs.

Elections for 11 Legislative Council seats in Maharashtra are on July 12. Due to 12 candidates contesting these seats, the situation of election has come. Apart from BJP and Congress, no party has enough votes to win its candidate, so there is danger of cross voting in MLC elections. An MLC candidate needs the support of the votes of 23 MLAs on a first preference basis to win. In such a situation, rigging is the only way to win, which is why everyone from Uddhav Thackeray to Ajit Pawar is on a mission to protect their MLAs from burglaries.

12 candidates for 11 seats in MLC elections

NDA has fielded 9 candidates in Legislative Council elections while India Alliance has three candidates. The BJP has fielded five candidates, the NCP led by Ajit Pawar and Shinde and the Shiv Sena have fielded two candidates each, while the Congress of India Alliance, Uddhav Thackeray’s Shiv Sena and Sharad Pawar’s NCP have one candidate each. Pankaja Munde from BJP, Dr. Parinay Phuke, Amit Borkhe, Yogesh Tillekar and Sadabhau Khot are MLCs in the election. Shinde-led Shiv Sena has fielded former MPs Bhavna Gawli and Kripal Tumane, while Ajit Pawar’s NCP has fielded Shivajirao Garje and Rajesh Whitaker. Whereas, Pragya Satav from Congress, Milind Narvekar from UBT, Jayant Patil from Uddhav Thackeray’s Shiv Sena and Sharad Pawar’s NCP have contested and Uddhav Thackeray has taken the lead.

Menace of cross voting in MLC elections

Based on the Maharashtra assembly members, the NDA could win 9 out of 11 seats in the Legislative Council, while the Indian Alliance is seen getting only two seats. To win an MLC seat, the support of votes of 23 MLAs on first preference basis is required. In such a situation, amid fears of cross-voting, all parties have started barricading their MLAs as the atmosphere has changed after the Lok Sabha elections and some MLAs from Shinde group’s Shiv Sena and Ajit Pawar’s NCP may switch parties. In such a situation, if there is cross-voting during the election, the Indian alliance can win three seats. This is why everyone from Uddhav Thackeray to Ajit Pawar is trying to protect their MLAs so that they can be protected from cross-voting.

All the MLAs of Uddhav shifted to the hotel

Uddhav Thackeray has fielded his personal secretary Milind Narvekar in the MLC polls, so he is in no mood to take any risks. Uddhav Thackeray is making all possible efforts to defeat Milind Narvekar, but before that he has planned to secure his MLAs. Uddhav Thackeray’s party has 16 MLAs, but Milind needs to secure the support of 7 additional votes to win the MLC election. In such a situation, they are eyeing additional votes from Congress and other MLAs, but before that the challenge is to secure their MLAs.

Keeping in view the possibility of ‘cross voting’ in the MLC elections, Uddhav has shifted all 16 Shiv Sena UBT MLAs to the ITC Grand Central Hotel on Wednesday. Aditya Thackeray also lives with these MLAs so that no leader from the opposition camp can approach their MLAs.

Sharad Pawar busy organizing camp for MLC election

Sharad Pawar is trying hard to defeat Shetkari Kamgar Party’s Jayant Patil in the MLC elections. Sharad has 12 MLAs who have declared support for Jayant Patil, but he needs 11 additional votes to win. For this he is eyeing the Congress MLAs, but at the same time he has planned to get the support of the MLAs who went with Ajit Pawar.

India’s coalition has 37 Congress MLAs, out of which one MLA has announced support to the Ajit Pawar group. In such a situation, now they have 36 votes left. Even after 23 MLAs voted in favor of Congress candidate Pragya Satav, she would still have 12 additional votes. Both Uddhav Thackeray and Sharad Pawar are trying to get additional votes from Congress, but Congress MLAs alone are not working. In such a situation it is not possible without breaking into the opposition camp.

Threat of cross voting for Ajit-Shinde

According to political analysts, the way the public has rejected Ajit Pawar’s faction in the Lok Sabha elections has made it clear that anything can happen in the future. After the Lok Sabha elections, Ajit Pawar called a meeting of his MLAs, in which five NCP MLAs did not attend. Bua became a threat after this and there were reports that some of the MLAs who had accompanied Ajit Pawar were in a mood to return. In such a situation there is a possibility of cross voting by MLAs of Ajit Pawar group.

Ajit Pawar is busy keeping his MLAs safe, due to which he reached Siddhivinayak Mandir with all his MLAs. Since then, Ajit Pawar has been monitoring his MLAs and keeping them in a safe place. Every vote counts for Ajit Pawar, which is why, despite BJP’s denial, Ajit Pawar has roped in Nawab Malik, who was arrested on charges of D-Company links and is out on bail.

Keeping in mind the possibility of cross-voting, the Shiv Sena’s Shinde faction had made arrangements to keep its MLAs in hotels. The party has booked 60 rooms in a five star hotel in Mumbai. Apart from this, MLAs of Ajit Pawar’s NCP and BJP have been kept in separate hotels in Mumbai. The BJP has taught all its MLAs how to vote on Wednesday and practiced voting on plain paper. Along with this, the senior MLAs were instructed that no one’s vote should be wasted.

Who is ahead in the numbers game in Maharashtra Assembly?

The Maharashtra Legislative Assembly has a total of 288 members but currently has 274 MLAs. In this sense, to win an MLC seat, the support of at least 23 MLAs on a first preference basis is required. BJP has 103 MLAs, its ally Ajit Pawar’s NCP has 40 MLAs and Shinde’s Shiv Sena has 38 MLAs. Apart from this, NDA has the support of 203 MLAs including other NDA allies and independent MLAs. On this basis, if the ruling party gathers the support of four more MLAs, all its 9 MLC candidates will win, but for that there are other smaller parties, which will have to be controlled.

Bharat Gathbandhan has the support of only 71 MLAs. It has 37 Congress MLAs. Apart from this, Uddhav Thackeray’s Shiv Sena has 16 MLAs. Sharad Pawar’s NCP has 12 MLAs. CPI(M) has the support of 2 SP, 2 and 3 additional MLAs. India can win all three seats depending on the number of MLAs in the alliance, but it will have to keep MLAs from other parties on board and also retain the confidence of Congress MLAs.

Nita Yadav

Nita Yadav

I am Nita Yadav, specializing in writing about politics and breaking national news. My focus is on delivering insightful and timely perspectives on these crucial topics, aiming to inform and engage my readers effectively.

Related Post

Leave a comment