Breaking India State Business Entertainment Biography Lifestyle

Dalit, woman or OBC face? Who will be the national president of BJP? Regional presidents of six states will also change

Ritul Pandey

By Ritul Pandey

Published on:

Many new leaders have been included in the cabinet of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. One prominent name in this is that of BJP’s National President JP Nadda. With his inclusion in the cabinet, many names are being discussed for the post of BJP’s National President. JP Nadda’s term has also ended. Assembly elections will be held in Maharashtra and Haryana. Even before that, the possibility of BJP getting a new national president has increased. Along with this, preparations are also being made to change the regional presidents of six states. However, it will be interesting to see what role the RSS will play in the election of the National President. Because JP Nadda had commented that the BJP has become so powerful that it can work even without the support of the RSS, which has angered the RSS.

After the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the then BJP President Amit Shah became the Home Minister in the government. At that time JP Nadda was appointed as the acting president. Nadda’s three-year term ended in January. However, he was given a six-month extension due to the Lok Sabha elections. So now he will remain the party president until the process of choosing his successor is completed. BJP has adopted the policy of one person-one post. Therefore, BJP will now have to start the process of electing a new national president.

The BJP leadership will have to think about the selection of a full-time president as well as a new working president. However, there is a strong possibility that the BJP will give a chance to OBC, Dalit and women persons for this post. Along with this, there is also a discussion in the political corridors that only a person having deep association with the RSS will be given the responsibility of this post.

How is the National President selected?

According to the BJP constitution, the national president is elected by the electoral college, which comprises members of the national and state councils. Any of the 20 members of the state electoral college can nominate a person who has been an active member for four terms and has a membership of 15 years. However, a joint proposal must come from at least five states where national council elections have been completed.

BJP will start the process of organisational elections along with the party’s new membership drive from next month. In this series, first of all there will be division, district and state union elections. After elections in 50 percent of the states, the national president will be elected. However, in the BJP constitution, the party’s highest body, the parliamentary body, has the power to decide on the president and his tenure in an emergency. Therefore, the party’s parliamentary board can extend Nadda’s term till the election process is completed to elect a new president or appoint a new president.

Will the BJP leadership change in these 6 states too?

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has acknowledged the important role of women voters in his three consecutive victories. In recent times, BJP has emphasized on women leadership. Along with this, BJP is also running a comprehensive contact campaign to increase the number of women members in the party. In view of this, there is a possibility of giving the responsibility of national president to a woman. BJP is preparing to change not only the national president but also the party leadership in 6 states. Its process will also start soon.

However, leaders who were being seen as potential national presidents after Nadda have been included in the Modi government’s cabinet. Sources said that the party can therefore promote prominent faces from its state or a national general secretary to the top post.

Looking at the results of the recent Lok Sabha elections, it is likely that a new face will be given a chance as the state president in Uttar Pradesh. BJP President Sukanta Majumdar has become a Union Minister in West Bengal. While Bihar President Samrat Chaudhary is the Deputy Chief Minister of the state. Haryana Chief Minister Nayab Singh Saini is also the party chief in the state. Telangana’s president is also Union Minister G Kishan Reddy. Gujarat President CR Patil has become a minister at the Centre. Rajasthan Chief Minister Bhajanlal Sharma is from the Brahmin community. President CP Joshi is also from the Brahmin community. These sources also said that there is a possibility that a new state president will replace him.

Ritul Pandey

Ritul Pandey

I am Ritul Pandey, a content creator focused on delivering entertaining and engaging news from the worlds of entertainment and sports

Related Post

Leave a comment