Breaking India State Business Entertainment Biography Lifestyle

Before the Lok Sabha Speaker election, there is a split in the India Alliance, this big party is angry with Congress

Pratik Mehta

By Pratik Mehta

Published on:

There has been a split in the All India Alliance over the candidature of the Lok Sabha Speaker. TMC MPs did not sign the nomination proposal of opposition candidate K Suresh. Congress forwarded its presidential candidate K Suresh. But TMC is angry with Congress for not following their advice. Trinamool Congress says that Rahul Gandhi did not even discuss the candidature before making the statement. ‘Congress took a unilateral decision.’ Trinamool Congress has 29 members in the Lok Sabha and is the fourth largest party in the House.

Who has how many MPs?

At present, the opposition has 234 MPs in the Lok Sabha while NDA candidate Om Birla has the support of 293 members. While TMC expressed displeasure in the election, K. Suresh will get only 205 votes. According to sources, TMC is now under pressure from Congress. A senior leader has been given the responsibility for this.

Due to lack of consensus for the post of Lok Sabha Speaker, elections will now have to be held. Voting for the post of Lok Sabha Speaker will be held on Wednesday. Once again, Om Birla’s name has been put forward by the NDA. On the other hand, K. Suresh from Bharat Aghadi filed an application at the last moment on Tuesday.

Elections in the absence of consensus

There was a discussion between Rajnath Singh and Mallikarjun Kharge for the post of Speaker. The NDA said that the President should be elected unanimously. But for this the opposition proposed the post of Deputy Speaker, after which there was no response from the government.

Union Minister Piyush Goyal said that the post of Lok Sabha Speaker has always been held by the ruling party, for which there has been a tradition of unanimity. But this condition has never been imposed before for giving the post of Deputy Speaker.

MPs from Congress, Shiv Sena, NCP (Sharad Pawar) and DMK have signed the name of Bharat Aghadi candidate K Suresh. Instead of supporting the post of President, the opposition remained adamant on the demand for the post of Vice President. K Suresh, who was an 8-time Lok Sabha MP, was a contender for the post of Protem Speaker.

Pratik Mehta

Pratik Mehta

I am Pratik Mehta, a passionate business news writer dedicated to covering economic trends, market analysis, and corporate developments.

Related Post

Leave a comment