Breaking India State Business Entertainment Biography Lifestyle

Akhilesh Yadav Quits MLA, Now Who Will Become Leader of Opposition in UP Assembly?

Nita Yadav

By Nita Yadav

Published on:

SP President Akhilesh Yadav.Image Credit Source: Facebook

SP president Akhilesh Yadav has decided to keep the Kannauj Lok Sabha seat, due to which he has resigned from the post of MLA. The post of leader of the opposition has also fallen vacant due to leaving the assembly. The Samajwadi Party has to find a strong leader for the Leader of Opposition in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly, who can replace Akhilesh Yadav. It will take someone to push the SP’s political agenda in the state and corner the Yogi government in the Assembly who will now make Akhilesh Yadav the leader of the opposition?

Akhilesh Yadav was elected as an MLA for the first time in 2022 from Karhal assembly seat in Mainpuri. At that time he was a member of Lok Sabha from Azamgarh, but resigned as MP and kept the assembly for himself. When Akhilesh Yadav was the leader of the opposition in the assembly, he was seen besieging the Yogi government from the streets to the house, but now after winning the election from Kannauj Lok Sabha seat, he has decided to do politics again in Delhi. In such a situation, he has resigned from the post of MLA, due to which the post of leader of the opposition has also become vacant along with the current assembly seat.

The Samajwadi Party needs a leader who can replace Akhilesh Yadav in the assembly. In such a situation there is a question in everyone’s mind that who will be the Leader of Opposition in the Assembly, this list includes the names of many leaders. However, the current SP MLAs lack an aggressive speaker who can react immediately when needed and corner the government on various issues.

These leaders left the Parliament

SP stalwart Azam Khan has been expelled from the Uttar Pradesh Assembly and is currently in jail. Apart from this, Ram Gobind Chaudhary, who had been the Leader of Opposition in the Legislative Assembly between 2017 and 2022, could not become an MLA in 2022. Azam Khan has also been the leader of the opposition. Due to which both the SP leaders are completely out of the election race. Manoj Pandey, who has been the chief whip of SP, has resigned and now he is standing in the BJP camp. Veteran SP leader Awadhesh Prasad has resigned as an MLA after being elected as Lok Sabha MP from Ayodhya, while Lalji Verma is going to resign as a member of the assembly after being elected as MP from Ambedkar Nagar.

Leaders like Indrajit Saroj, Shivpal Yadav, Durga Yadav, Ram Achal Rajbhar, Mata Prasad Pandey and Ravidas Mehrotra are among the options for Leader of Opposition in the Assembly. However, Akhilesh Yadav not only wants to solve the House equation by becoming the Leader of Opposition in the Assembly, he will also try to implement his PDA formula. We have to find a leader who knows the art of speaking and also fits into the caste equation of SP.

Why won’t uncle Shivpal Yadav become leader of opposition?

Akhilesh Yadav’s uncle Shivpal Yadav has been MLA for six times. He was the Leader of the Opposition between 2009 and 2012, but is not considered a good orator. Apart from this, another problem is that if Shivpal Yadav is made the leader of the opposition, the SP will also be accused of Yadav’s bias. The presence of the Yadav community in the post of SP president, leader of the Lok Sabha and leader of the opposition in the assembly will provide an opportunity to surround the opposition. That is why it is believed that SP chief Akhilesh may hand over the post of leader of opposition to a leader other than Yadav and give the post of chief whip to his uncle Shivpal.

Akhilesh Yadav may play the role of making Ambedkar Nagar MLA Ram Achal Rajbhar and Kaushambi MLA Indrajit Saroj the Leader of the Opposition. Ram Achal hails from a non-Yadav OBC. Rajbhar is a big leader of the community, while Indrajit Saroj comes from the Pasi caste of the Dalit community. As the Pasi community has voted for the SP in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections and five Pasis have been elected from their party, Indrajit has many chances to become the Leader of the Opposition, as Akhilesh Yadav is holding the post of Leader of the Opposition. Indrajit Saroj holds the post of Deputy Leader in the House. He also fits into the SP’s political equation. Ram Achal Rajbhar may come from a non-Yadav OBC, but his political base is not all over UP, but the Pasi community is all over UP.

Ramamurthy Varma’s name is ahead in the race

Senior SP MLA Ramamurthy Verma is also in the race for Leader of Opposition in the Assembly as he hails from the Kurmi community. In the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, the Kurmi community has unanimously gone to the SP side. Because of this, many Kurmi MPs have been elected on SP tickets. Akhilesh Yadav managed to defeat the BJP in Purvanchal only on the basis of Kurmi votes. If a decision is taken to make someone from the Kurmi community the Leader of the Opposition, Ramamurthy Verma’s name may get a nod. He is the MLA from Azamgarh district and fits the non-Yadav OBC formula.

Mata Prasad Pandey is a strong leader of the SP and hails from the Brahmin community. Mata Prasad was the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly during Akhilesh’s tenure as Chief Minister between 2012 and 2017. He is seen as a good speaker, but due to his age and ill health, he cannot regularly participate in the proceedings of the House. Due to this, it is difficult for him to become the leader of the opposition in the assembly. Lucknow Central MLA Ravidas Mehrotra, who is pitted against Defense Minister Rajnath Singh in the 2024 Lok Sabha polls, is seen as an effective speaker, but does not fit into the SP’s political equation.

Nita Yadav

Nita Yadav

I am Nita Yadav, specializing in writing about politics and breaking national news. My focus is on delivering insightful and timely perspectives on these crucial topics, aiming to inform and engage my readers effectively.

Related Post

Leave a comment